Greater Montr�al Movies

Barbie

Barbie

Score: 6.25 / 10

Release Date: Re-Release
Director: Greta Gerwig
Producer: Amy Pascal, Laurie MacDonald, Walter F. Parkes
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Margot Robbie, Ryan Gosling, Will Ferrell, America Ferrera, Kate McKinnon, Issa Rae, Rhea Perlman, Hari Nef, Alexandra Shipp, Emma Mackey, Connor Swindells, Michael Cera, Helen Mirren, Sharon Rooney, John Cena, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Simu Liu, Ariana Greenblatt, Scott Evans, Jamie Demetriou, Dua Lipa, Ncuti Gatwa, Nicola Coughlan, Emerald Fennell, Ana Cruz Kayne
Genre: Adventure
Running Time: 114 minutes

Write a Review


Barbie movie reviews

  • 4

    Barbie

    Wednesday, August 9, 2023 6:54:40 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Funny in parts but overall....very boring. Trying to figure out what the hype is all about.

  • 1

    Barbie

    Wednesday, August 9, 2023 12:34:25 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Please give my two hours back

  • 2

    Barbie

    Wednesday, August 9, 2023 12:01:00 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    1hr and 58 minutes..... WASTED!

  • 2

    Barbie

    Tuesday, August 8, 2023 10:16:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Do all movies nowadays have to push the perverted woke agenda. Especially for children. Sad and disgusting. Shame on Hollywood.

  • 10

    Barbie

    Monday, August 7, 2023 11:34:38 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The opening scene is a reference to Space Odyssey 2001 whereby the ape uses a large bone to smash smaller bones, thus the creation of the tool, something that expanded the species ability to thrive. The little girls are smashing their baby dolls because before the Barbie doll, they could only play at being mothers. Adult Barbie opened up their world to play at being anything! Thus, the expansion of little girls dreams about being more than mothers or caregivers. Barbie came out in the late 1950s, this was a different time for women. And the message at the end also touched on every mother projecting her daughter forward to strive for even more in the next generation. Women and mothers should be celebrated, I felt the montage at the end really touched on that. What a great message!

  • 9

    Barbie

    Sunday, August 6, 2023 1:51:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The previews with little girls smashing baby dolls when they see grown up Barbie were intriguing. I didn't expect to see a grown up movie but it was pleasantly surprising. There's a point to it about balance in relationships. Not bad. I loved the toy props and Kate McKinnon's weird Barbie. Ryan Gosling is talented but I guess his Ken was supposed to be annoying. He excelled. Actually he reminded me of my old boyfriend. I wouldn't give that any awards out of principle.

  • 10

    Barbie

    Saturday, August 5, 2023 11:06:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    if you didnt like the movie. sucks for you because it was amazing. and if you think the real world isnt like this you need a quick reality check on life. im excited to watch this movie 20 more times. also shouldnt be seeing lots of complaints about it not being for your kids. watch the trailer. do ur research parents before pulling up to a movie where you might see some "wrong messages" or what youd like to call it. the movie was amazing. barbie can be anything she damn well pleases. and thats how she was shown throughout these years. the movie portrays her perfectly.

  • 9

    Barbie

    Saturday, August 5, 2023 9:42:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great story and message in movie, really enjoyed it

  • 6

    Barbie

    Saturday, August 5, 2023 8:44:00 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Had to review to provide a balanced perspective here as it seems like most reviews are really political. Took my 12 year old daughter. Movie opens with shot of little girls smashing baby dolls like they are smashing the patriarchy. So that gives you an idea of where it is going. Movie had lovely visuals and had a few laughs. Really enjoyed "weird barbie". Liked that it highlights how difficult it can be for women to meet all the expectations for a woman. But the idea that the real world is ruled by men is not an accurate portrayal of today's world and felt like the wrong message. I also didn't enjoy how the battle of the sexes was "resolved". My daughter enjoyed the movie but felt that it should have had a more equitable solution at the end. She came up with this on her own accord so I was happy to see she could watch it with a critical eye.

  • 2

    Barbie

    Saturday, August 5, 2023 1:40:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    They build something up by tearing something else down. This isn't downtown New York, people can improve without degrading others. Shameful