Greater Montr�al Movies

Barbie

Barbie

Score: 6.25 / 10

Release Date: Re-Release
Director: Greta Gerwig
Producer: Amy Pascal, Laurie MacDonald, Walter F. Parkes
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Margot Robbie, Ryan Gosling, Will Ferrell, America Ferrera, Kate McKinnon, Issa Rae, Rhea Perlman, Hari Nef, Alexandra Shipp, Emma Mackey, Connor Swindells, Michael Cera, Helen Mirren, Sharon Rooney, John Cena, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Simu Liu, Ariana Greenblatt, Scott Evans, Jamie Demetriou, Dua Lipa, Ncuti Gatwa, Nicola Coughlan, Emerald Fennell, Ana Cruz Kayne
Genre: Adventure
Running Time: 114 minutes

Write a Review


Barbie movie reviews

  • 2

    Barbie

    Thursday, August 31, 2023 5:59:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The Barbie theme should be for kids. This movie is not kid appropriate, and dumb for older youngsters. Overall, a boring movie and a waste of money and time.

  • 1

    Barbie

    Thursday, August 31, 2023 10:39:51 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    As a 1960s Barbie fan, I was disappointed with the story line. This is not a childrens movie!

  • 10

    Barbie

    Thursday, August 31, 2023 4:09:31 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    My Best Picture pick.

  • 10

    Barbie

    Tuesday, August 29, 2023 2:53:47 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Barbie is so fun and so validating! You know what I mean, women! Its real, keeps it positive overall, makes fun of itself, and contains the best rant Ive ever heard. Its inclusive too- no side-eye towards those who some call imperfect.

  • 7

    Barbie

    Monday, August 28, 2023 11:50:52 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I heard it was a man-bashing or man-hating feminist movie but I refused to read what the story was actually about. I went with my wife and kids (after a few parents said it would be ok for the kids to watch as there's no swearing or nudity), and I was in shock. I didn't know where they were going with it and I started to think it would be a fish-out-of-water usual movie. NOPE. Totally subverts expectations in every way. It was really original and impressive. I didn't see it as man-hating/bashing movie at all. I saw it as Barbie and her friends rule Barbieland and Ken's have zero real roles of any responsibility. It's an upside down utopia (in a way). The real world has made strides but it is run by men..opposite to what Barbie was the inspiration for a woman to excel and exceed at. I took it as we need to all do better and find real equality between men and women, well really, all people. FYI, Margot Robbie needs to be nominated for an Oscar. She really sold me on her being Barbie, but in an unexpected way. Ryan Gosling needs an Oscar nod to! Freaking hilarious but comically showing us that men are ruling the world and look how quickly we can destroy Barbieland utopia. Simu Liu, Michael Cera (all Canadian!) were awesome. It really is worth seeing.

  • 3

    Barbie

    Monday, August 28, 2023 9:32:50 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The first part in Barbieland went on too long. I was tempted to walk out, but I figured I should wait until they're in the real world. It got a little better, but not much. Mostly I felt sorry for Ken, who's in love with Barbie but the Barbie world is for women (I'm female). Ken doesn't really get to do anything. And she doesn't love him back and doesn't want to spend time with him. I was hoping this would be the first Greta Gerwig film I would like, but GG can't act, and she can't direct. IMO anyway.

  • 1

    Barbie

    Sunday, August 27, 2023 7:16:55 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Bad

  • 1

    Barbie

    Saturday, August 26, 2023 6:04:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Some funny parts but for the most part it was just a weird, cringy movie. Some scenes were too much for kids and others were too cringy even for kids. Too many songs. The best you will see from this movie is the preview/trailer.

  • 1

    Barbie

    Saturday, August 26, 2023 2:47:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Total fluff and no substance. Saw it to understand why it was so popular. I think the message about women being in charge of themselves and their environment is so old and worn out, it is a sadly overused cliche. Don't waste your time or money on this nonsense.

  • 1

    Barbie

    Saturday, August 26, 2023 11:44:45 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very colorful but boring. Not worth watching. Do not bring your children to watch it. It will confuse them with woke ideology subliminal and not so subliminal messages.