Greater Montr�al Movies

The Woman King

The Woman King

Score: 6.78 / 10

Director: Gina Prince-Bythewood
Producer: Cathy Schulman, Julius Tennon, Maria Bello, Viola Davis
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Viola Davis, Lashana Lynch, John Boyega, Jayme Lawson, Jordan Bolger, Sheila Atim, Thuso Mbedu, Adrienne Warren, Masali Baduza, Thando Dlomo, Jimmy Odukoya, Hero Fiennes Tiffin
Genre: Action
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


The Woman King movie reviews

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Saturday, November 5, 2022 3:39:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Empowering!!

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Saturday, November 5, 2022 1:06:41 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great movie, loved the history of the female warriors.

  • 1

    The Woman King

    Thursday, November 3, 2022 11:52:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Woman King? I thought a female monarch was a "Queen". What's next? A movie about a male queen? Oh wait...we already had that with Rocketman.

  • 1

    The Woman King

    Saturday, October 29, 2022 6:11:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I didn't like the false narrative and afrocentric propaganda in the movie.

  • 2

    The Woman King

    Friday, October 28, 2022 10:25:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Even Lincoln The Vampire Slayer was more historically accurate.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Thursday, October 27, 2022 11:40:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The acting and the story line

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Tuesday, October 25, 2022 11:52:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Very entertaining! Ive seen it twice now and saw things I missed or didnt get the first time. The acting was top notch all the way around.

  • 8

    The Woman King

    Sunday, October 23, 2022 6:22:58 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I will admit this movie is not as authentic as it could have been, given the king's right hand and the use of the English language, neither of which would have had a place in 1823 Africa. At the same time, I'm glad it was in English because I didn't want to spend the whole time reading subtitles. I think it covered some critical points in African history, some points that truly needed to be told. But I'm not a historian so I don't know how accurate all of it is, especially an elite force of all women. Nevertheless, it was impressive to see. Regardless of all of the negatives people have said about it, it was very entertaining, and isn't that a part of why we love movies? Viola Davis was great in this role, as if she could be bad in anything. The young female warrior is an amazing actress. Her expressions were completely appropriate for every scene. And the other warriors, I guess who would be second and third in command, were fantastic in their respective rolls. This movie is definitely worth your money and your time. It is the first movie that I have seen on the big screen since Covid took over the world. And I'm extremely happy that I went.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Sunday, October 23, 2022 9:55:13 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Empowering Women of Color is REQUIRED!!! Anyone who doesn't understand the reasoning behind making such a film... should remain silent.

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Sunday, October 23, 2022 1:30:30 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I saw this movie three times in the in one week! I love this movie! The actors/actresses speak with their eyes. So much emotion through the eyes. Viola Davis is awesome along with the other actresses and actors! I love the characters, story line, culture. Their fit bodies and beautiful dark skin and athleticism was beyond beautiful, incredible, majestic, regal and inspirational!