Caledon Movies

The Little Mermaid

The Little Mermaid

Score: 6.7 / 10

Release Date: September 06, 2023
Director: Rob Marshall
Producer: John DeLuca, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Marc Platt, Rob Marshall
Studio: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
Starring: Halle Bailey, Melissa McCarthy, Javier Bardem, Jonah Hauer-King, Daveed Diggs, Jacob Tremblay, Awkwafina , Awkwafina
Genre: Adventure
Running Time: 135 minutes

Write a Review


The Little Mermaid movie reviews

  • 9

    The Little Mermaid

    Friday, June 16, 2023 3:11:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I appreciate how Disney gave Eric depth, a personality, and a backstory in this film. He is more than just a good-looking character like in the OG film. You can see what Ariel and Eric actually have in common and why they were drawn to each other - beyond just saving his life. Additionally, the new songs - Wild Uncharted Waters and For The First Time are beautifully sung by both Jonah Hauer-King and Halle Bailey; adding essential elements to the film that strengthen the storyline and ambitions of each character. Finally, the CHEMISTRY!! OMG! THE CHEMISTRY! It's "chef's kiss." This movie has been overshadowed at times from the fake negative reviews, but the numbers are climbing steadily at the box office and it's because it's actually a WELL DONE live adaption. I would place this movie at the top 3 of live-adaption remakes of Disney Princess movies. I laughed, I cried, I rooted for them ... Halle's voice is in a world of its own and I literally heard Ariel. So proud of her and I love this cast. Great job, Disney!

  • 9

    The Little Mermaid

    Tuesday, June 13, 2023 7:47:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Halle BAILEY (not Halle Berry) did a perfect job. I loved everything about it. The diversity in the movie (I thought) was super outstanding. I'm color blind as to the people. So the diversity didn't bother me one bit. Nor did I bother my family. I was lost in the movie and the nostalgia of my inner-child. It was great. I was not bored at all. And neither was my family. We loved it. We wish there would be more movies like this...that doesn't feature anything bad. There was no foul language. There was nothing in it to be offended by. I really appreciated that. Because I am super fussy about what my kids see. Please Disney, put more movies out like this. Halle Bailey did a wonderful job portraying Ariel. And I thought the prince was fantastic! Really, every single person in the movie did a grand job. We hated to see the movie end!

  • 9

    The Little Mermaid

    Tuesday, June 13, 2023 7:35:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    5-Stars for this movie! 🌟🌟🌟🌟 It was so well done. There aren't enough movies out for a family head to bring their children to that doesn't feature violence, sexual innuendos, or cussing. This was so refreshing. Because it did not contain any of that. And the idea that they did this live was wonderful. I hope they do a sequel!!!

  • 5

    The Little Mermaid

    Monday, June 12, 2023 7:37:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    a bit long but good action

  • 7

    The Little Mermaid

    Sunday, June 11, 2023 9:01:48 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Haley Berry and Melissa McCarthy were excellent. The songs are great too. I have the album from the animated version. McCarthy should be acknowledged more for her important role. The prince was well... ordinary as prince's go. And adopted by black people? Why was that an issue? Diversity is cool but seems like it was thrust in your face all over the place. The end of the story is not true to it's real end which was always a problem but that's Disney.

  • 10

    The Little Mermaid

    Friday, June 9, 2023 1:46:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Loved the 3D version at Disney Springs but thought it was supposed to be 4D. Was hoping for some water sprinkles and a little heat or wind. Either way, I thought it was well done. I can see where people who disagree are coming from. The problem is we built this country on a horrible foundation. Trying to make it better for all people is going to be a challenge. Halley was excellent. I loved the diversity for sure.

  • 2

    The Little Mermaid

    Thursday, June 8, 2023 7:09:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    woke trash

  • 5

    The Little Mermaid

    Thursday, June 8, 2023 1:12:49 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Moved very slowly.

  • 9

    The Little Mermaid

    Tuesday, June 6, 2023 10:16:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Halle Bailey was absolutely amazing! I grew up with the original and it was always one of my most favorite movies. I was moved to see Ariel brought to life in such a beautiful way! I cannot say enough good things about her!

  • 5

    The Little Mermaid

    Tuesday, June 6, 2023 9:40:55 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Yes, Halle was good in it. But the movie bombed in Asia. An op-ed in The Global Times said, "“The controversy surrounding Disney’s forced inclusion of minorities in classic films is not about racism, but its lazy and irresponsible storytelling strategy. Many Chinese netizens said that like ‘Snow White,’ the image of the mermaid princess in Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tales has long been rooted in their hearts and it takes a leap of imagination to accept the new cast.” A lot of North Americans are probably thinking the same thing. Why put a black girl in a role that was originally white. Would we do the opposite - put a white girl in a role that was originally black? That would probably spark violence in the streets. Write an original black story. Next thing you know, the little mermaid will be played by a man.