Kelowna Movies

The Woman King

The Woman King

Score: 6.53 / 10

Director: Gina Prince-Bythewood
Producer: Cathy Schulman, Julius Tennon, Maria Bello, Viola Davis
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Viola Davis, Lashana Lynch, John Boyega, Jayme Lawson, Jordan Bolger, Sheila Atim, Thuso Mbedu, Adrienne Warren, Masali Baduza, Thando Dlomo, Jimmy Odukoya, Hero Fiennes Tiffin
Genre: Action
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


The Woman King movie reviews

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Sunday, September 18, 2022 4:28:05 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    We all look at movies in a different light, I personally liked this movie.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Sunday, September 18, 2022 3:30:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Do your home work if you want to comment. This movie is more than bout slavery. I found it to be a good movie.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Sunday, September 18, 2022 3:27:22 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Well done, donít allow the negative feed back on it. It was well written and the actors / actressís were superb

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Sunday, September 18, 2022 3:23:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent, well done from start to finish.

  • 1

    The Woman King

    Sunday, September 18, 2022 10:31:46 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This is the most vile piece of propaganda I have ever seen. It tries to turn some of the most evil people who ever lived into heroes. The people who made it must be full blown racists in order to glorify a slave based empire. I am glad that a friend bought our tickets. i would have wanted a refund.

  • 2

    The Woman King

    Sunday, September 18, 2022 9:21:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Propagandistic crap which tries to sell the evil Dahomey kingdom based on slavery (long before the whites came to Africa) as some empowering movie for black people. The irony is some of the actors in this movie are most likely grand-grandkids of Africans enslaved and sold by the Dahomey. Dahomey used female warriors because they lost too many of their male ones in constant wars and raids against the other tribes. Not because they cared about equality.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Saturday, September 17, 2022 6:51:11 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I really enjoyed this movie. Great fight scenes. Acting was good.

  • 2

    The Woman King

    Saturday, September 17, 2022 5:50:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Viola is a good actress but the movie is a leftist hollywood woke nightmare of lies. Thought the action was good - Now if it had just been based on the facts - but it was a racist nightmare of liberalism and feminist hogwash

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Saturday, September 17, 2022 5:15:07 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Contrary to the negative feedback based on limited knowledge of these people, this story is not about the Dahomey (modern-day Benin) people, it's about a female army who led the resistance against colonizers. It is not meant to be an "answer" to "The Black Panther." The "Black Panther" is make-believe; in fact, the fictional Dora Malaje of the Black Panther movie was inspired by the real life Agojie depicted in "Woman King." For those who insist upon holding the Dahomey's involvement in the slave trade as the reason that this movie should not be supported, be reminded that it can never be compared to the systematic and deliberately dehumanizing brutal brand of chattel slavery which economically enriched this and other countries for centuries. Lastly, do not be baited into supporting one or the other African American producers. Support them all. We are not a dichotomy (all one thing or the other). Go see the movie with an open mind. Ms. Viola Davis and all of her co-stars give stellar performances. Five stars, indeed.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Saturday, September 17, 2022 3:46:59 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Viola Davis is wonderfully fierce and bad-ass in every scene !!! She is beautiful. Africa is beautiful. This is history as we have never seen it before. It made me feel proud to be a Black woman. I cried.