Greater Vancouver Movies

Barbie

Barbie

Score: 6.25 / 10

Release Date: Re-Release
Director: Greta Gerwig
Producer: Amy Pascal, Laurie MacDonald, Walter F. Parkes
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Margot Robbie, Ryan Gosling, Will Ferrell, America Ferrera, Kate McKinnon, Issa Rae, Rhea Perlman, Hari Nef, Alexandra Shipp, Emma Mackey, Connor Swindells, Michael Cera, Helen Mirren, Sharon Rooney, John Cena, Kingsley Ben-Adir, Simu Liu, Ariana Greenblatt, Scott Evans, Jamie Demetriou, Dua Lipa, Ncuti Gatwa, Nicola Coughlan, Emerald Fennell, Ana Cruz Kayne
Genre: Adventure
Running Time: 114 minutes

Write a Review


Barbie movie reviews

  • 4

    Barbie

    Friday, August 11, 2023 3:40:51 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Silly, nonsense, I really wished at least it wouldnít end by going a toy to Gynecologist! 🤮

  • 7

    Barbie

    Friday, August 11, 2023 3:34:50 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I get a big kick out of the theater of it all. The cast is just great and the script isÖ.smart. Iím almost 50 and have watched Barbie evolve over the years. Girls these days go straight from American Girl dolls to video games, so my perspective is sort of a historical one. The dry humor and cultural innuendo was spot on. Oh to be a fly on the wall in the writing room! The wit! Children will likely get bored and lost because itís just way over their head. The violent part of the first scene was unsettling and off putting. It wasnít comedic to me, not sure maybe because Iím a mom. Itís now an unwanted memory that Iíd like to scrub from my brain. But I guess it did the job of grabbing my attention and creating a sharp contrast for the scenes that follow. I really did enjoy it and my friends agree that when we watch it again weíll likely discover dialogue that we missed the first time around. Also, any man who feels the least bit threatened by this story needs a serious heart check. Maybe get curious instead of defensive.

  • 2

    Barbie

    Friday, August 11, 2023 7:54:37 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    There is nothing redeeming about this movie. It plays on nostalgia of 30-60 year old moms who remember fondly playing with their Barbies to deliver divisive and dangerous feminist / trans lessons: men are just an accessory. There is no such thing as male or female (interesting irony there, huh?). Burn down the system. This is indoctrination, dressed up in pink. More of the same from whatís left of Hollywood.

  • 10

    Barbie

    Friday, August 11, 2023 7:18:29 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie will likely be challenging for most men as it turns the table on the patriarchy, but, it is well written and conceptualized. In my opinion the actors do a good job in their respective roles to make the movie a fun, entertaining experience.

  • 4

    Barbie

    Friday, August 11, 2023 12:05:41 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Over hyped and over the top

  • 2

    Barbie

    Thursday, August 10, 2023 10:59:43 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Anti-Men. Sexualized Barbie.

  • 9

    Barbie

    Thursday, August 10, 2023 2:22:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Many men wont like this movie, that's true. Those individuals don't have any idea what its like in the patriarchy for women, and they don't want to hear about it, either. I've seen this movie twice and the more I think about it, the more I realize its brilliance. For those open to challenging the systems we live in, this is a fun, relatable, and easily digestible expose on the patriarchy. Bravo Greta Gerwig!

  • 2

    Barbie

    Thursday, August 10, 2023 1:21:22 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Even if you agree or disagree with the politics of the movie, it's just not a good film in anyway. Writing is bad, set design is overhyped, and the attempts at anything comedic are just contrived.

  • 1

    Barbie

    Wednesday, August 9, 2023 11:25:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    One of the most overhyped movies I have ever seen. Extremely disappointed I wasted my time and money on this garbage.

  • 9

    Barbie

    Wednesday, August 9, 2023 6:57:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    More of a movie for adults than kids. Very witty. Well done.