Whitehorse Movies

Chevalier

Chevalier

Score: 7.13 / 10

Director: Stephen Williams
Producer: Andrew Lowe, Cornelia Burleigh, Dianne McGunigle, Ed Guiney, Stefani Robinson, Zahra Phillips
Studio: Searchlight Pictures
Starring: Kelvin Harrison Jr., Samara Weaving, Lucy Boynton, Marton Csokas, Minnie Driver
Genre: Drama
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Chevalier movie reviews

  • 8

    Chevalier

    Tuesday, June 13, 2023 1:24:40 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    As I said in a previous review, when I saw it a few months ago, I want to see it again. In some serious reviews being very critical, I think the flawed personalities of the real life characters of the time were just to bring drama & tension to the film, or maybe Marie was a bitch, I honestly don't know. The biggest disappoinment for me was, considering it was about a musician, not enough music, not the character flaws. The docudrama Amadeus had a great deal of Mozarts music & was a fantastic movie. Never-the-less, I will be going to see it again. I'm glad it came back to theaters. As a musician my self, the most cringeful moment was - break his fingers. rh

  • 5

    Chevalier

    Monday, June 5, 2023 8:47:34 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Good cinematography, pace was slow and what tension developed was lost due to dramatic pause and posing. Acting was insufficient to carry the story that should have been told. Truely a bit more on the cutting floor and tighter editing would have served the film well.

  • 10

    Chevalier

    Monday, May 1, 2023 12:25:35 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    My niece and I went to see this amazing movie. Did not know anything about Joseph Bologna It's amazing how we keep learning from our history..

  • 8

    Chevalier

    Monday, May 1, 2023 10:19:57 AM | (age group: 2-17) | M

    It is an interesting historical movie. I saw it with my wife. Both of us liked it.

  • 8

    Chevalier

    Sunday, April 30, 2023 5:42:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie was an interesting take on the life of Joseph Bologna, Chevalier St. Georges who was, in fact, and accomplished and virtuoso musician and composer who aided in the rebellion against the French Monarchy. Any attempt to deny his existence or denigrate this movie as an attempt of the "woke" Hollywood Industry to create a left wing myth is ridiculous, right wing, bigoted garbage. Yes, there are some scenes in the movie that seem to be fictionalized or imagined events but these are minor and do not detract from the story line and the message of the film. These idiots that keep using the word "woke" as a derogatory term for anything that depicts black or liberal people as respectable just shows how ignorant some Americans and bigots can be. The price we must pay for their confused idea of the right to free speech. See the movie. It is worth 2 hours of your time. Excellent script, acting and direction!!!!

  • 9

    Chevalier

    Sunday, April 30, 2023 3:44:09 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I normally donít like a period piece movie, but Chevalier was absolutely wonderful. The acting, the music, the costumes, the story line Ö everything about it was just so amazing.

  • 2

    Chevalier

    Sunday, April 30, 2023 12:38:14 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Joseph the Boulogne was a man of accomplishment and a brilliant musician. He was also a charismatic courtier, savvy in the ways of privilege and influence. His music is the object of much interest today, because it is great. You'll learn nothing about this by watching this movie. A minute of his music accompanies the credits at the very end of the film, but that is all. Otherwise, the film builds on an astonishing ignorance and prejudice about pre-revolution France and the people who made the revolution. Here is an assortment of what the movie peddles: opera is boring; Queen Marie Antoinette was a popular/mean girl; Mozart, a bro; Gluck a nobody bureaucrat. About the aristocracy, the film cannot decide. A Marquis embodies all that is evil about privilege, a Marquise all its glamor and goodness. The worst is Joseph the Boulogne himself, a character so limited in his ability to comprehend the world he lives in, he would make the real Joseph de Boulogne cringe. Melodrama is overlaid thickly, but you become engrossed in it at the peril of your own intelligence. The film seeks to produce its own feeble-minded spectator. Forget, for instance, that the revolutionary debates about humanity and enslavement were earnest in the years preceding the revolution, or that the reality of people of color in France was complicated. Forget most assuredly about the real Joseph the Boulogne, or his mother. Boulogne, most disappointingly, is a musician without a voice -- his music is substituted by ditties and melodies sounding familiarly pop, of today. The saving grace: sets and costumes are great; the actors did their best.

  • 7

    Chevalier

    Tuesday, April 25, 2023 9:00:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    You can tell the trump commmentors; It took a little while for me to connect with the characters, but when I did, became totally absorbed in the movie. I don't get caught up in the nonsense criticisms; it had at times intense drama, tastefully done romantic scenes & moved me in spite of some faults. I hope to see it again. Not as much music as I would have liked, but it was more about the drama in his life regarding politics, romance, racism & his several talents more than his virtuosity. At the end were notes on the screen of what path his life followed.

  • 10

    Chevalier

    Tuesday, April 25, 2023 7:08:14 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It was a wonderful movie! Great story, costumes, acting! Will go again!

  • 4

    Chevalier

    Sunday, April 23, 2023 8:32:48 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    With dialogue taken like struggle sections with various people engaged in identity politics seeking to identify with each other's struggles, and exaggerated and fabricated incidents to make 18th century France more racist a place than it actually was--typical leftist fare, this is a film which distorts the French Revolution and its context enough not to convey the essential reality that those who advocate revolution often end up being the victims of it, and deserve their own destruction accordingly. The makers of this film, in advocating leftist revolution here and now, cannot bear to convey just how badly it worked out for the French egalitarians who largely were guillotined over the course of the last decade of the 1700's by their radical political rivals. Alas, this film is by children of privilege for children of privilege who need to check their privilege rather than inflicting their garbage politics on anyone else.