Charlottetown Movies

Oppenheimer

Oppenheimer

Score: 7.37 / 10

Release Date: February 16, 2024
Director: Christopher Nolan
Producer: Charles Roven, Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Cillian Murphy, Emily Blunt, Robert Downey Jr., Matt Damon, Rami Malek, Florence Pugh, Benny Safdie, Michael Angarano, Josh Hartnett, Kenneth Branagh, Dane DeHaan, Dylan Arnold, David Krumholtz, Alden Ehrenreich, Matthew Modine
Genre: Biography
Running Time: 180 minutes

Write a Review


Oppenheimer movie reviews

  • 10

    Oppenheimer

    Wednesday, July 26, 2023 5:52:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Personally I enjoyed this film, I am not a huge fan fo the three hour format but I appreciated facts covered in the life of Dr. Oppenheimer who put the team together to build the first atomic bombs used to finally end WWII. This answered several questions about who leaked the information to the Russians and how prevalent the communist party was in the USA at that time. The sex in the movie was important, it is a tool of the spy industry and it did the trick in this case.

  • 4

    Oppenheimer

    Wednesday, July 26, 2023 5:47:03 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I found myself wanting the film to end around the 2 hour mark. The acting is fine, but I found that there wasnt enough of the supporting actors. I didnt quite understand why Oppenheimer was so blase about his personal conflicts. His wife knew what the problem was but Oppenheimer, the brilliant physicist didnt have the street smarts to figure it out? H-mmm. Not enough on the actual building of the bomb. Too much of Oppenheimer walking around in circles. The nude scenes? Im not a prude but they were gratuious and they did not further the plot. Overall an average movie. Mission Impossible is better bang for your 3 hours.

  • 9

    Oppenheimer

    Wednesday, July 26, 2023 4:39:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Acting by all, & drama is as good as it gets. the science & the bomb itself are secondary themes. Primamry theme is Oppies personal life & the attempted political assassination of R.O. The compelling "all aspecs of this movie" made the three hours pass quickly. The mature content of this movie is not because of nude scenes, but because of the mature mind to appreciate it. I found the dialog a little easier to understand in the Dolby vs standard theater. NOTE; The BBC put out a docudrama called "Hiroshima" which included survivors testimony; What they witnessed & experienced, no horror movie could ever come close to. It detailed the Los Alamos team, Enola Gay bomber crew, (the bomber that dropped the bomb) survivor testimony, & the devastating Heat , Blast & Radiation destruction in detail. Not for the faint hearted.,rh

  • 5

    Oppenheimer

    Wednesday, July 26, 2023 2:56:13 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The acting was superb: I didn't even recognize Robert Downy Jr, and the role he played. The photography was equally excellent. The part of director was, as I have said above; "Meh!" My friend, Ben B. had difficulty in separating all that noise from the movie, and that period when the dialog was extremely difficult to hear. My reaction: even good Directors have difficulty in separating the past from the present, over time (in this case three hours!) and shifting those times repeatedly over the course of those three hours. so, thus, the "Meh" ratiing I will give it.

  • 9

    Oppenheimer

    Wednesday, July 26, 2023 12:06:56 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    No waisted time. Every scene dialog perfect. Cast perfect. We all know itís about the bomb, but what I didnít know is Politicianís have been sleazy even longer then I ever knew. I will see it again. Itís just that good.

  • 10

    Oppenheimer

    Tuesday, July 25, 2023 11:19:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Intellegent story of a conflicted man whose life was twisted for political gain

  • 9

    Oppenheimer

    Tuesday, July 25, 2023 2:59:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    If you're going just to see atomic bomb blasts, then skip it. It's not really about that. It's long (yeah they went all Apocalypse Now on this flick). Yeah it's rated R. Yeah there are brief but tasteful nude scenes that are essential to the story. The score is very well done as is the story telling. The actors do an amazing job in their roles. Robert Downey is fantastic as Lewis Strauss. So many people give it bad ratings. If you don't know who he is then why go and complain?

  • 8

    Oppenheimer

    Tuesday, July 25, 2023 10:53:59 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie should have had an R rating

  • 6

    Oppenheimer

    Tuesday, July 25, 2023 9:39:51 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    There was absolutely no reason for the nudity scene. Due to the rating I had 3 under 15 children with me. Next time I'll wait till it comes out on local TV.

  • 8

    Oppenheimer

    Monday, July 24, 2023 4:46:27 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Interesting thru out the movie