Oakville Movies

Dune: Part Two

Dune: Part Two

Score: 6.91 / 10

Release Date: Crave
Director: Denis Villeneuve
Producer: Cale Boyter, Denis Villeneuve, Mary Parent, Tanya Lapointe
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Timothée Chalamet, Zendaya , Rebecca Ferguson, Javier Bardem, Josh Brolin, Stellan Skarsgård, Dave Bautista, Charlotte Rampling, Austin Butler, Stephen McKinley Henderson, Christopher Walken, Florence Pugh, Léa Seydoux, Souheila Yacoub
Rating: PG
Genre: Sci-Fi
Running Time: 166 minutes

Write a Review


Dune: Part Two movie reviews

  • 6

    Dune: Part Two

    Monday, May 27, 2024 9:50:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Sorry, too many parallels to the middle east for me. I think of that region and get nauseous

  • 10

    Dune: Part Two

    Tuesday, April 23, 2024 10:45:03 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Enlightening and Entertaining

  • 4

    Dune: Part Two

    Tuesday, April 23, 2024 6:01:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not much made sense. Of course they all shed their life giving helmets every time there is a fight, the bad guys have helmets on. And that horrible Johnny girl, she must be the bi-racial daughter of the producer, one angry glance after another is her acting chops. This Dune is of course the 2nd of the series of 32 more episodes, which will finish in 2033, June.

  • 1

    Dune: Part Two

    Friday, April 19, 2024 9:01:59 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I asked my wife to go with me & made her watch Dune 1 on DVD before the theater trip for context. She enjoyed Dune 1 (in spite of her initial doubts) and we both were looking forward to Dune 2 in IMAX. Coming out of the theater we both agreed part 2 was dreadful compared to part 1. Jumpy script, disjointed editing and dialogue. We will not waste theater time on 'a future' part 3 & I will be hesitant to waste time watching a part 3 on a small screen. Such a disappointment for both my wife & me. I had to constantly apologize to her all the way home!!!

  • 1

    Dune: Part Two

    Wednesday, April 17, 2024 4:34:08 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Having read the books wayyyy back when (as I'm the 1970s) and found them plodding and pedantic I was hoping that a modern movie rendition would add some much needed punch and pizazz to the series. No dice. This thing was dull and boring, and even the cgi couldn't add excitement to a plot that was boring in the 70s...! It appears that all the hype is by gen z viewers and reviewers trying to prove that they themselves have some depth by liking a "classic", but nothing can save this from the dud that it is. Seriously, save yourself some money and hard pass on this (or at least wait until it's free on Netflix, so that you can turn it off after 1/2 hour).

  • 10

    Dune: Part Two

    Monday, April 15, 2024 11:56:55 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    i love it

  • 9

    Dune: Part Two

    Friday, April 12, 2024 10:08:26 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I loved Denis Villenueve first depiction of Dune in Part I, and I thought Part II was even better! Wow! The sights and epic portrayal was amazing! This is definitely a film you want to see on the big screen with premium screens and sound.

  • 8

    Dune: Part Two

    Wednesday, April 3, 2024 1:27:19 PM | (age group: 3549) | M

    Better than the first!

  • 7

    Dune: Part Two

    Saturday, March 30, 2024 12:53:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Acting was superb. Visuals/special effects top notch. I realize it is hard to adapt a book to a movie, especially for those seeing DUNE for the first time. That said: Dune 2 is a mirror of the 2nd book in the DUNE series called DUNE; MESSIAH. The theme of DUNE 2 is that young Paul Atreides finds out he is Indeed, "the ONE." Frank Herbert was VERY descriptive in his books, overtly so IMO. I read the first 3 books over 40 yrs ago and remembered that of the books. Keeping in line with the theme is actually done well, with a few parts "massaged" for the unknown audience to understand. The DUNE saga runs like a soap opera, so it is best to know the characters and watch their emotions/actions in the scenes to pick up on the theme carrying throughout the series. Don't go to the bathroom or get popcorn during the movie as every part is linked to the prior/next. All in all; a unique and great sci-fi well worth following.

  • 9

    Dune: Part Two

    Saturday, March 30, 2024 12:48:25 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I've read all the books. It isn't for people who read Harry Potter for sure. If you don't pay close attention to the movie, then you will be confused. This isn't a Marvel movie(thank goodness). This isn't just a movie, it is an event.