Greater Toronto Movies

Book Club: The Next Chapter

Book Club: The Next Chapter

Score: 4.73 / 10

Director: Bill Holderman
Producer: Bill Holderman, Erin Simms
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Diane Keaton, Jane Fonda, Candice Bergen, Mary Steenburgen, Andy Garcia, Don Johnson, Craig T. Nelson, Giancarlo Giannini, Hugh Quarshie, Vincent Riotta
Rating: PG
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 107 minutes

Write a Review


Book Club: The Next Chapter movie reviews

  • 7

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Sunday, May 28, 2023 9:31:26 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Liked Seniors can relate to the women in this movie. Life doesn't stop when you're saging. It gets better.

  • 3

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Friday, May 26, 2023 4:41:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great cast wasted on garbage

  • 1

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Wednesday, May 24, 2023 6:43:59 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie would have best been shown in the 1950's when the world understood American greed but might have overlooked it. In view of the state of world affairs in 2023, this movie showed greed at its best. I went to see a movie to see the older women strut their stuff but this was somewhat obscene. Did I miss the gold toilets??

  • 1

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Sunday, May 21, 2023 9:32:02 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The plot was ridiculous. However, the scenery of Italy was beautiful

  • 3

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Sunday, May 21, 2023 8:12:12 AM | (age group: 50 or over.) | F

    In spite of being excited to see my favourite actors I was bored from the very first scenes. The story seemed contrived and the whole thing"padded" to make a full length movie

  • 9

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Friday, May 19, 2023 4:03:52 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie made me laugh out loud and the story was solid. It was a pleasure to see all those veteran actors on screen together. I enjoyed seeing female friendship and loving, supportive men portrayed. This movie didnít need to be deep or Oscar-worthy - it set out to celebrate friendship and make us laugh. Mission accomplished!

  • 5

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Tuesday, May 16, 2023 5:24:04 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Funny, but just O.K. a good performance from Diane Keaton. Movie Portrays women and seniors as airheads. Never get tired of Jane Fonda and classic comedy!

  • 6

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Tuesday, May 16, 2023 5:14:18 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Book Club 2 is a fun watch only because the gal pals are so charming. It misses because the script writers tried way too hard for 300 gag lines. The 4-5 that hit the mark would have been hysterical had they been allowed to stand on their own.

  • 5

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Thursday, May 11, 2023 10:28:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Mary Steenburgen was good in this. She looks younger than the others. Diane Keaton also never disappoints, although she seems to play herself, even down to the clothing and hats.

  • 3

    Book Club: The Next Chapter

    Thursday, May 11, 2023 10:19:32 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was sooo bored in spots, I was wondering when it would be over and I checked my watched, less than an hour had passed. Because 80 for Brady was so fun, I assumed this would be similar. Nope. Four randy old ladies go on a trip, flirt with guys, drink a lot, I mean, a lot! And talk, talk, talk talk talk about stuff nobody else cares about. This could have been cut down into a half hour sitcom, because there were a lot of laughs, especially in the first part, and then it just turned totally corny and phony.