Greater Ottawa Movies

Nope

Nope

Score: 5.29 / 10

Director: Jordan Peele
Producer: Ian Cooper, Jordan Peele
Studio: Universal Pictures
Starring: Daniel Kaluuya, Keke Palmer, Steven Yeun, Michael Wincott, Brandon Perea, Keith David, Donna Mills, Terry Notary
Rating: 14A
Running Time: 135 minutes

Write a Review


Nope movie reviews

  • 1

    Nope

    Monday, August 8, 2022 8:29:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The title says it all. A strong NOPE!!!!

  • 10

    Nope

    Sunday, August 7, 2022 12:33:16 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie is deeper than you can comprehend. It challenges your biases and if you're opened to be entertained and educated you'll truly love NOPE!

  • 4

    Nope

    Saturday, August 6, 2022 5:37:01 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lame. Doesn't make sense. Characters are not believable or relatable. Don't waste your money on this one.

  • 1

    Nope

    Saturday, August 6, 2022 7:30:04 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    What a terrible movie! And I really like Jordan Peele; 'Get Out' was an awesome debut and screenplay. But this movie violates the #1 Rule of storytelling: you have to care about the characters. And I didn't. I actually found myself rooting for the alien/monster at certain points. [SPOILER ALERT] The hero, OJ, I actually liked, sort of. But his sister was just the worst; we never saw enough of their dad, and their overall goal of capturing the alien on film so they could upload it to YouTube and make a million dollars is just not an inspiring premise. I don't care if they get rich and can save the family farm. When 40 of their neighbors get eaten by the monster and they don't call the police or the authorities to protect everyone else, they are just plain selfish and stupid. I really tried to like this movie, but I think one too many people read this script and didn't tell Jordan Peele the truth: that this movie plain sucked. And I'm sorry, but this recurring flashback of a giant chimp killing all of the white people in a tv audience was horrible and gruesome and one of the worst things I've ever seen on film. How did it tie into the current alien story? It was a creepy, awful backstory for the Asian owner of the Jupiter Claims place, but he died in the next scene anyway. Way too little emotion, way too bizarre and hard-to-root-for characters, and overall I wish I could get those two hours of my life back. :)

  • 6

    Nope

    Friday, August 5, 2022 10:20:16 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Interesting sci-fi/horror obviously appeals to amateur psychoanalysts with superiority complexes.

  • 9

    Nope

    Thursday, August 4, 2022 8:07:24 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    I was a fan of anthology horror and creepy short stories growing up. This is perfect live action version of a creepy pulp type short story that leaves you pondering with a chilled but pleasent discomfort as you know you know nothing

  • 10

    Nope

    Thursday, August 4, 2022 8:02:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This movie is the Norm Macdonald of cinema. Often misunderstood, overlooked, boo'd off stage, and accused of not making any sense. Yet just like Norm this movie is actually a marvel of execution in it's world. Norm was a comedians comedian. Loved and adored by those who "get it" because they could see what he was doing. The average sheep can't even perceive the color orange right in front of them so they often leave disgruntled and confused by things they have to instructions to understand. People who don't see this movie as a masterpiece are simply the NPCs o the world that can't think efficiently. They always need to be told what to do. They would rather have firm lies instead of fluid truth. They'll love you if you give them a direct and firm absolute lie. They will eat the deception up. As long as something official and firm is decided with confidence then they feel safe to follow that notion. They want to walk on solid ground even if it's a lie. Why can't people just enjoy what is there without assuming anything? Without expecting some firm orders to be given to them? These are scared people. People who get scared and confused by thinking on their own. People who get disoriented and angry easily because they see their inability to make sense of something as a weakness. They feel it's a failure. It makes them feel small. And the stupidest people have some huge egos. They hate to feel small. They hate to feel stupid. But They are. So if you enjoy books, thinking, reading, contemplation, deep discussion, mystery, cerebral thrillers, ancient aliens and unsolved mysteries, twilight zone and outer limits, symbolism and esoterica, myth and the occult, lovecraftian lore, dark comedy, and movies about film production. Then you will probably enjoy this film. If you didn't like Birdman, if Inception and Tenet confused you...then you may want to skip this one. It's not particularly scary. Although one may feel creeped o

  • 9

    Nope

    Thursday, August 4, 2022 7:43:56 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    People are so stupid nowadays because of apps like toktok that they don't have the brain cells or the attention span to watch a masterful and artful achievement in filmmaking without crying that it didn't spoon feed them some directions on how to think. They completely don't get it because they are dumb. It's not that hard to get. These are illiterate people who can't even read and write. They are disappointed because they expected a horror movie and something to spike their addiction to flashy lights and high octain sports. They wanted blood, guts, cheap jump scares and a plot that says explicit "there's the bad guy get him". People literally lose their heads like chickens when you don't give them someone to hate in a film. They are incapable of walking around an art gallery and deriving any meaning from it that isn't written on the description or forced upon them with literal imagery.

  • 2

    Nope

    Wednesday, August 3, 2022 9:43:28 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    No storyline... Parts of the movie thrown in to have creepy or scary parts but didn't make sense.. Terrible glade I went on cheap night. The title of the movie says it all Nope to everything

  • 2

    Nope

    Wednesday, August 3, 2022 9:37:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    The movie was a total waste.. The alien was a big sail boat looking thing. That was 2hrs wasted.