Greater Ottawa Movies

American Fiction

American Fiction

Score: 8.54 / 10

Release Date: Vancouver, Montreal, Calgary, Edmonton
Director: Cord Jefferson
Producer: Ben LeClair, Cord Jefferson, Jermaine Johnson, Nikos Karamigios
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
Starring: Jeffrey Wright, Tracee Ellis Ross, John Ortiz, Erika Alexander, Leslie Uggams, Adam Brody, Issa Rae, Sterling K. Brown
Rating: 14A
Genre: Comedy
Running Time: 117 minutes

Write a Review


American Fiction movie reviews

  • 10

    American Fiction

    Sunday, February 25, 2024 3:31:19 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Great movie, Jeffrey Wright was superb! While I may not be able to fully relate to the story since I didn’t grow up in the US, certainly a good take on stereotypes of “expected” and perceived racial behavior. Also a bit reminiscent of the fictional JT LeRoy character which Laura Albert invented for her books and the subsequent movie (though in a very different context). Enjoyable fulm with a lot of laughs but also a lot of scenes that make you cringe.

  • 9

    American Fiction

    Friday, February 23, 2024 2:34:06 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Imaginative, well acted and produced

  • 9

    American Fiction

    Wednesday, February 14, 2024 11:00:53 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent storytelling that takes you on an emotional journey about life, forced stereotypes, and navigating bias whether unconscious or otherwise. Jeffey Wright is spectacular in an Oscar-worthy peformance with a stellar supporting cast

  • 9

    American Fiction

    Tuesday, February 6, 2024 10:51:20 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Insightful, smart, great acting.

  • 9

    American Fiction

    Monday, February 5, 2024 11:52:53 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    This still happens today. Very well developed and realistic storyline. Enjoyed the acting and unexpected stuff that happens. I could relate!

  • 10

    American Fiction

    Saturday, February 3, 2024 1:30:34 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Much more nuanced than I expected. Although the main storyline is aimed at the absurdity of public displays of white guilt, the main focus is on showing that most “black experience” is human experience. Everyone faces the same problems of family, friends, making ends meet and finding success, but we tend to simplify everything into cliches. Fantastic ending. I laughed so hard! Highly recommended.

  • 8

    American Fiction

    Sunday, January 28, 2024 6:40:42 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Some definite funny parts, but something just didn't jibe with me. Maye too many contrived moments/scenes? Overall, a rather sad commentary.

  • 7

    American Fiction

    Saturday, January 27, 2024 8:59:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Not bad. Not great either. Just amusing enough. I looked forward to seeing Tracee Ellis Ross. She's an admirable actress. She was killed off in the beginning. How droll. It was good to see that Leslie Ugham is still alive. She survived the whole thing too. The concept was appropriate. Go figure why people think black people have to be locked into limited speech and behaviors.

  • 9

    American Fiction

    Sunday, January 21, 2024 8:50:44 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Excellent! One of best films of the year. Funny, poignant, and very smart.

  • 9

    American Fiction

    Friday, January 12, 2024 3:16:41 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    It takes a lot to make me laugh and I laughed through this movie. Lots of humor that may go over the heads of some viewers who are not familiar with Black culture. Jeffery Wright is a very good actor and has outdone himself in this movie.