Gloucester Movies

Napoleon

Napoleon

Score: 5.5 / 10

Director: Ridley Scott
Producer: Kevin J. Walsh, Mark Huffam, Ridley Scott
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Joaquin Phoenix, Vanessa Kirby, Ben Miles, Ludivine Sagnier, Tahar Rahim, Ian McNeice
Running Time: 157 minutes

Write a Review


Napoleon movie reviews

  • 1

    Napoleon

    Tuesday, December 5, 2023 11:41:41 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Ridley diddly.

  • 5

    Napoleon

    Sunday, December 3, 2023 12:15:21 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Wanted to love it but it missed the mark. It would have been better if the writers had actually told the story of Napoleonís actual life.

  • 3

    Napoleon

    Saturday, December 2, 2023 9:20:19 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Lordy, this was the dullest movie I've seen in years. In fact I slept through a good part of it. Phoenix's performance in the title role made a piece of damp cardboard look interesting. And all the outdoor scenes were filmed through a weird grey filter, which added to the pervasive sense of ennui. Incidentally, the sex scenes were cringey and nasty, so for goodness sake don't take young kids to see this film. Two thumbs down.

  • 2

    Napoleon

    Friday, December 1, 2023 1:58:39 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Garbage. I had such high hopes going in, and I don't even know where to begin. So I won't.

  • 8

    Napoleon

    Friday, December 1, 2023 12:27:16 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    I liked the movie. It told a good story. Acting was good. Scenes depicted in the movie were not excessive in length like some action movies. Whether it is true to history or not it told a story of a little man who like some other men in history tried to conquer the world so to speak. It came to my mind that WW 1 started 100 years later. These small minded men have and were and still are fighting just to conquer. As in WW2 the Germans couldnít conquer Russia because of the cold winter.

  • 9

    Napoleon

    Thursday, November 30, 2023 10:56:30 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Regardless of its accuracy, it is still a good film. Joaquin is a great fit for the role, and the story is adventurous and intriguing. If you want a full biography of Napoleon, a 2 hr film will obviously disappoint. Go pick up a history book instead of review-bombing if youre dissatisfied :)

  • 3

    Napoleon

    Thursday, November 30, 2023 9:48:18 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Too ponderous. Too much left out. Completely underwhelming. And yeah, the person below who is having a fit over the use of 'hairlip' (still acceptable) should really get help for their fragility (not to mention their odious racism). Skip this movie.

  • 10

    Napoleon

    Thursday, November 30, 2023 3:32:21 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    The most fun I've had at the movies in a long, long, time! 5/5

  • 8

    Napoleon

    Wednesday, November 29, 2023 7:53:31 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It seems like you just did, ďbullyĒ me !! I am a medical person and the only people still referring to people who were unfortunately born with a cleft lip are white trash bullies who donít know any better. Maybe thatís what you learned growing up, to bully the misfortunate.

  • 2

    Napoleon

    Wednesday, November 29, 2023 11:44:58 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Cleft lip... it's also called hairlip. And people who don't have the grammar skills of a third-grader shouldn't be calling others idiots. Seek therapy at once. I'm not one of the people who bullied you over your hairlip.