Vancouver Movies

The Woman King

The Woman King

Score: 6.78 / 10

Director: Gina Prince-Bythewood
Producer: Cathy Schulman, Julius Tennon, Maria Bello, Viola Davis
Studio: Columbia Pictures
Starring: Viola Davis, Lashana Lynch, John Boyega, Jayme Lawson, Jordan Bolger, Sheila Atim, Thuso Mbedu, Adrienne Warren, Masali Baduza, Thando Dlomo, Jimmy Odukoya, Hero Fiennes Tiffin
Rating: 14A
Genre: Action
Running Time: 134 minutes

Write a Review


The Woman King movie reviews

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Thursday, October 6, 2022 12:14:42 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    We all know Viola Davis has acting chops. Here she proved she can carry a movie. Well done, sista Viola!

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Wednesday, October 5, 2022 12:50:23 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Amazing movie, I can go watch this again and still enjoy it like its my first time. Only thing I don't recommend is seeing it in 4DX that's where I went wrong because it was just doing to much after awhile.

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Wednesday, October 5, 2022 7:58:57 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Voila Davis did not disappoint. Great to see a woman be the leader of a movie. The co-stars were right on point. The scenario was so realistic and the story line was easy to follow. I've seen it 3 times. Totally rate this movie 5+ stars.

  • 1

    The Woman King

    Wednesday, October 5, 2022 6:41:05 AM | (Age Not Specified)

    Orwellian dystopian nightmare.

  • 1

    The Woman King

    Tuesday, October 4, 2022 9:00:54 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    It is ironic that a movie set with a people fighting against slavery is set historically in a people that perpetuated slavery even before white people did. This movie is propaganda and completely a-historical.

  • 9

    The Woman King

    Tuesday, October 4, 2022 7:31:32 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Strong....Powerful...People

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Tuesday, October 4, 2022 5:16:37 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This film is excellent in spirit and execution. Based on true historical events, The Woman King allows the viewer a glimpse of the Dahomey people's intense desire to remain free from being conquered and exploited during the early 1800's African slave trading done by both African and European slavers. The audience has an opportunity to realize what African people did to survive during those horrendous times. The all Woman defense force were called the Agojie (A-go-gee). I intend to view The Woman King again.

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Tuesday, October 4, 2022 4:23:36 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    Viola Davis rocked it. Loved the entire movie from start to finish, with the exception of the dark arts, aka "Rocks" The rocks "LOL" not good.

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Tuesday, October 4, 2022 3:40:10 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    awesomeness...all about woman power. Excellent cast, excellent costumes, and great comrades

  • 10

    The Woman King

    Monday, October 3, 2022 11:27:45 PM | (Age Not Specified)

    This the best movie my group has seen . Thank You Galaxy Theater . We enjoyed your wonderful service . Thank for being so kind . My name is Dolores Davis . We had large group & they want thank you as well .